What our guests say

"Amazing"

Family trip thru Ireland and was looking for a memorable castle experience. Dromoland fit the bill to a tee. Outstanding facility, excellent staff, wonderful afternoon tea, delicious dinners, many activities to choose from. Beautifully appointed rooms, great bathrooms, outstanding views of lake and 18th hole. Loved so much we extended our stay another night!  Girls tried archery, guys played golf, enjoyed the pool, steam, sauna and work out room. Day trip to Cliffs of Moher and Ennis town. Dinner at Fig Tree and Earl of Thomond were very enjoyable. There are no elevators, but if mobility is an issue, the 1st floor rooms have limited steps and there is an exterior wheel chair lift. Overall it is on the expensive side, but definitely worth it!

July 6th 2014


"One Night at Dromoland Castle".

I stayed just one night at Dromoland as I had to pick up friends at Shannon Airport in the early morning. I have stayed at the Castle a few times in the past and was anxious to get a little golf in before a much anticipated golf trip around the Irish Southwest.     The golf both on the day of arrival and early the next morning made my stay worth it. The hotel had a special: 9 holes with a cart, time at the practice area and a sleeve of balls for 45 Euro. I was practicing my chipping and the Golf Pro David gave me a few pointers.It was the perfect tune up before hitting Lahinch the next day.
Dinner was at the Fig Tree Restaurant. More informal and very good. Don't miss the walled garden beside the restaurant. Wow.
The hotel has not changed much over the years which is actually quite nice. Breakfast was excellent and I really had a great experience. I always enjoy returning to Dromoland and am never disappointed.

June 30th 2014


"What is better than superb?"

The superb accommodations at Dromoland Castle really deserve more than just 5 stars. Indeed, 7 would still be lacking. From the moment you enter the reception area, to leaving the gates, you are surrounded by luxury. The well appointed halls and common areas are but a mere preview to the comfort of the rooms and elegant bathrooms. The golf course looks like a privilege to play, I was sad I didn't have time for a round. The dining continued the experience with exquisite cuisine and extensive wine list. The service was also top notch. Breakfast provided a wonderful reason to arise in the morning. A very special place I hope one day to return to.

June 19th 2014


"Outstanding and Unforgettable"

My husband surprised me with a stay at this castle for our honeymoon. It was splendid! at first I thought that maybe we won't fit in there- we were backpacking and didn't have fancy outfits with us. but I saw a few others wearing simpler outfits and the hotel staff treated everyone with utmost courtesy.our room was very clean, and bathroom was especially nice. the food we ordered at dinner in a fancy dining room with candles was delicious and exquisite. we walked around the property in the evening and in the morning and it's just so peaceful! we highly recommend falconry- we had an amazing time (approximately 1-2 hours) with our guide and the hawk. Enjoy your stay here!

June 7th 2014.


"Super"

We booked in for one night & stayed 2 now that says it all--the bedrooms are beautifully furnished and the little extra touches of little notes & chocs being left on our pillows in the evening was delightful---the fishing on the Lough was at no cost to the guests staying there (now THAT is not the norm) the Fig Tree served lovely meals at the Club House if one just wanted a light meal .ALL in all cant wait to get back .

May 29th 2014.



"Fulfilled my dreams of staying in a Castle"

A a girl's vacation through Ireland we wanted to splurge on a castle, who doesn't want to a be a princess! We were not disappointed. The castle and grounds are lovely and the staff exquisite. We had a queen anne room and it was lovely, with large windows looking out on a courtyard. The grounds are beautiful, and took walks and rode bicycles available to guests at the leisure center. The center also has a nice indoor pool, team and sauna. Nice after walking the trails. Breakfast was very good, we mainly had the continental, but there was all sorts of fruit, fresh pastries and more. The service was perfect. So much to do on the grounds, it makes up for the castle being a ways out of any town.  We enjoyed tea service one afternoon, which was fun, and then dinner that night in the gallery area. Very cozy. . Overall it was a wonderful stay.

May 29th 2014.



"Perfect"

Two nights' stay and loved it. The building is extremely atmospheric, conjuring up regal times past. It must be real challenge maintaining this monster of a building to the standards achieved.
Service was faultless from start to finish. Room was huge - bigger than some apartments - comfortable and a treat to go back to.  Breakfast really outstanding, presented and cooked to perfection. Definitely the place to stay in this part of Ireland.

May 19th 2014




"Simply Marvellous"

A princess will enjoy this location as well as the average public! The service were a step above anything I have seen in several countries. Take time to do the bit w/ the “Falcons”. I was not feeling well, but the staff was great. A 15th C castle that has been upgraded to be larger w/ a full spa and golf course. We had a delightful tea in the room of our choice. I order the “light tea” and it was just right. Just walking the grounds is a pure delight. There is a full gym, but I did not get to use it. Wish I had booked an extra night at the end of my tour here. If you can stay 2 nights, that way you can indulge in much more. Lasting memories in this well kept 15th C Castle is a once in a life-time experience. IMHO.

May 16th 2014.



"Sublime-It's the little things that show why it is a 5 star".

I stayed in Dromoland for one night on Sat 26th April with my husband and two daughters aged 10 and 5 years. The moment the castle came into view it took our breath away - it's just beautiful. We received an amazing welcome - we felt like we were the only guests in the hotel! The ladies at reception were just so lovely to my girls - it was immediately clear that not only were children accepted here they were genuinely welcome. The girls were given colouring books and pencils, and when we were shown to our room by the lovely lady in hospitality we discovered two teddies had been left for them. There were even kiddie-sized robes in the wardrobe for them to wear. There was also a card and some chocolates for me as I was celebrating a milestone birthday. Our room was absolutely immaculate and had a lovely view. 

That evening we dined in The Fig Leaf, the restaurant in the golf club.On our return to the hotel we had a drink in The Gallery, which was lovely and relaxed and a great spot for the four of us to sit and chill before bed.

Breakfast was a revelation - without question the best buffet selection I have ever seen, and a lovely hot menu to go with it. Afterwards we at last got to explore the beautiful grounds. On leaving we felt like family members departing after a stay, right down to the tearful objection of the girls who did not want to leave. The staff really could not have been nicer. 

A trip to Dromolamd is more than a stay, it's a whole experience, one that I would strongly recommend to anyone. My only regret was that we were not staying longer, but I hope to rectify this sooner rather than later.

May 1st 2014



"Best Staff Ever".

We stayed for a weekend in March. Most of the staff appeared to be Irish which is good to see locals being employed as well. We have stayed in several 5 star hotels in Ireland/Europe and the attitude from all staff was the best we have ever come across. Well done!

April 24th 2014


"Excellent Stay at a beautiful Castle".

We enjoyed several days at this beautiful castle. The hotel even prepared our room with a little special something for our two little ones! We were even able to get a small fridge in our room to keep milk and some snacks for the kids. The staff was amazing and so welcoming - from helping us quickly book some activities to giving us a lift in a golf cart to the leisure center. 

We enjoyed a pony and trap ride with Sean and Paddy. Sean was great with my little one and kept him entertained as we opted for the hour ride through the forest and around the lake. We were also able to do a hawk walk with the School of Falconry and David was amazing and very knowledgeable. This was definitely one of the highlights of our stay! 

The gardens and grounds are beautifully kept and we had a wonderful time exploring them. We definitely look forward to returning!

April 23rd 2014.


"A perfect place to get pampered near the Wild Atlantic Way".

Stunning from the earth up! Something from a fairytale. The rooms are pristine, well appointed and nicely furnished. The grounds are flawless. The staff is friendly and helpful. I loved that our porter had been there for years, Aden we look forward to seeing you again next year. This is a dream getaway for families and couples. My 5 year old son LOVED that there was a teddy bear waiting for him when he arrived. He has been carrying it around ever since and even took it to the movies the other day. The personal touches, elegance and hospitality came together to make this a WOW experience. Simply stunning.

April 6th 2014


"A Truly Fantastic Experience From Start to Finish".

My husband and our two children spent a 3 night stay at Dromoland Castle and from the time we stepped out of the car until we checked out this was a really great experience. The staff are remarkable at delivering top class 5 star service and with a smile, nothing is a problem. The food was exceptional as was the room and also the grounds. The kids had a ball as there are so many activities to keep them and us as a family occupied. This is one hotel we will be returning to until then I will cherish the memory and the experience. Amazing!

March 17th 2014.

 

"Dream Come True".

Not sure how to report anything too much different or unique compared to all the positive reviews already mentioned. My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary by traveling throughout Ireland. We wanted to stay in a castle for part of our journey, and did our homework online for months before deciding on Dromoland. It was a perfect choice, a dream come true!! The outward appearance was postcard-worthy! The inside was not only NOT a disappointment, it was amazing! The food was top notch. I don't often say WOW to a breakfast, but they spoiled us from the time we arrived to our sad day of departure. Friendly staff in all areas, from the front desk lady who called nearby restaurants to get us a table, to the staff in the restaurants and bars, to the ones that cleaned our room. They all seemed to understand what it means to give outstanding service! It's in a great location as well, to visit nearby interesting places (Cliffs of Moher, Ennis, Limerick, Galway, Rock of Cashel). I believe some castle hotels may look nice partly on the outside, but inside just feel like a regular hotel. Not Dromoland. Seriously, you will not be disappointed if you pick this one. Even if you save a little money staying somewhere else----trust me, Dromoland is the one you want, it was a fairy tale experience, and again, a dream come true.

March 14th 2014.



"Irish Hospitality at it's very Best".

We stayed over night. On arrival the concierge appeared he took our luggage and parked the car. Check in was efficient and charming. Our room the Keighley Suite was all that you could wish for. We enjoyed pre-dinner drinks in the bar. There's a turf fire in the main hall and the smell could only be in Ireland. Other guests were sitting around in soft squishy couches reading, having a coffee or sipping a drink. Dinner in the main restaurant was a wonderful experience. Great choices for each course and without being a bore every morsel of food was exquisite. Breakfast is also a wonderful experience, an extensive array of fresh fruit and also a wide choice of breads, conserves and cereals. This is all before you chose from an array of cooked breakfasts teas and coffees. In Dromoland the setting is exceptional but if there's a word greater than exceptional that word would describe the staff. The General Manager Mark Nolan oversees every detail with warmth charm and an enthusiasm and energy for serving the customer. If you have a special moment coming up and you feel like a real treat don't hit the airport and go abroad instead indulge yourself in all that Dromoland has to offer you will be so very satisfied with what's on offer

March 7th 2014.

 

"Wonderful Experience".

Had out "Minimoon" here recently and what a wonderful time we experienced, we certainly won't forget our break here. From the moment we arrived we felt the friendliness, and relaxed atmosphere. Full marks to all staff in every department here in Dromoland, you were all a contributor to a memorable stay. The food was superb, and will remain a highlight of our stay. The Spa is restful, unhurried and totally relaxing and very beautifully decorated. We got an upgrade to the Edward Hyde Suite - thank you - beautiful room. The castle and grounds themselves are a major attraction to a stay here, a total getaway from everything. Can't wait to return even if only for the ritual of Afternoon tea in the gallery, another marvellous treat. Thank you to all at Dromoland Castle for the many little details that added up to a most memorable and enjoyable stay.

March 7th 2014

 

"Grand Experience".

Our visit was part of an Irish Splendor tour. The Dromoland Castle Hotel visit was the tour highlight. Outstanding service, wonderful dining experience and quality food in the dining room. We had a sunny day and walking the grounds was very rewarding. We will definitely spend more time at Dromoland on our next Ireland visit.

March 5th 2014.

 

"Simply Sublime".

We had a family break: a three night stay during my daughter's mid-term break in February. We received a very warm and genuine welcome from the receptionist. Then John (a concierge) ushered us into our lovely bedroom soaked in opulence overlooking the lake. There were glorious treats left in the room to welcome us, including a personalised letter from the General Manager! We had the evening to explore the castle and the surrounding with the help of the staff who were genuinely interested in us and our stay.   Leisure facilities in the Club House were a real treat, followed by a sumptuous relaxing lunch in the Fig Tree restaurant was an experience to relish. Our daughter also enjoyed the buggy ride from the hotel to the leisure facilities.  Everything in this oasis of luxury is attention to detail in a serene and salubrious setting.

February 25th 2014 

 

 

"Wonderful".

Just spent a wonderful weekend at Dromoland, with family and it was fantastic, from the rooms food and the first class staff. I have stayed here three times and each time it's been wonderful, please try it yourself your be glad you did.

February 9th 2014.

 

"The Jewel of The Emerald Isle".

I spent a weekend at Dromoland Castle for a special occasion recently. To say it was worth the wait (all my life!) is an understatement! From the moment my pinkies stepped on the first step to the Castle I was enthralled. The beauty and exclusivity of the grounds is fantastic. I stepped into the 5 star world of indulgence but with pure class. Every staff member were exemplary and yet welcoming. The room Deluxe Suite was very comfortable and tastefully decorated in style. The bathroom was large and luxurious. I dined in the Earl of Thomond and enjoyed the finery of the 5 course meal. Drinks afterwards in the drawing room were appreciated as a night cap! If you only do it once in your life - DO IT! Stay here to experience an out of this world experience. The price is insignificant to the experience.... I am looking forward to a return visit!

January 25th 2014.

 

"Best hotel in Ireland".

I have dined in this hotel numerous times while on holiday to Ireland co Clare and this year was the first time I have ever stayed over night (a present from my mother). It was a luxurious stay and as usual the staff were polite and welcoming. Not only was I blown away by my beautiful large room but breakfast lunch dinner afternoon tea and a trip to the spa as well as walking around the grounds was absolutely fabulous. I would recommend anyone headed to this side of Ireland to stay here if they want a luxurious beautiful nights sleep in a lovely setting and incredible hotel.  Lots of lovely activities available at the grounds and definitely the highlight of my trip!! While on the pricey side the level of luxury was beyond any other rooms I have stayed in for the same prices and no hidden extras is always great!

January 22nd 2014.

 

"One Word-Spectacular"

We spent 2 nights at Dromoland Castle. From the moment we checked in to the moment we left, everything was perfect. The doormen were extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was AMAZING! We were upgraded to a stateroom and it was the most beautiful room we've ever stayed in. Food in the lounge was delicious and relaxing. Turndown service included milk and cookies, chocolates and gummy bears for the kids. They catered to our kids by providing child-size robes and slippers. And they each got a teddy bear. My only regret was that we couldn't take advantage of the long list of amenities. Gold, tennis, spa, falconry???!!! We will definitely be back to enjoy everything this fantastic place has to offer!

January 15th 2014.

 

"Fabulous Hospitality".

It's tough to beat Dromoland for class, service and overall relaxation. Tony, the maitre d, is one of the best professionals in the business and the attention is provided effortlessly. If you don't like what's on the menu, tell him what you want and he'll gladly oblige. Definitely has to be on the bucket list.

January 13th 2014

 

"Best of the best Castle hotels".

We have been doing a castle tour in Ireland. We have been to many lovely castles. However this one was the best one. It was authentic elegant high-end and lived up to its name. The food was very good and we had an amazing experience. We will be back!

December 24th 2013.

 

"Grand Stay".

Driving through the golf course you are soon able to see the castle through the trees. The building is amazing. The grounds are breathtaking, and the service cannot be topped. Every one has a smile and is eager to help you. The wifi seems strong throughout the castle. We sat outside the cocktail bar at the fire place for some time. We did not get to enjoy the hot tub but it looked so relaxing. The room was so nice and well decorated. The bathrooms was so large compared to many hotel bathrooms. We would definitely stay there again if we are ever in Ireland again

November 18th 2013.

 

"Bliss"

We had not been to Dromoland Castle for a number of years, so we took advantage of the two night plus dinner offer which looked like good value. The property is in superb condition, better than when we were there previously, the first impression is that this is a high class hotel that is very well maintained. First impressions are made by Reception staff and they were exemplary, from seamless check-in to valet parking. The room was very well appointed and extremely comfortable, but with a slight problem with heating, which was resolved in a matter of minutes. On to the cocktail bar, where we received a cheery welcome from Frank before heading in for a superb dinner, accompanied by a helpful wine choice suggested by Maitre d' Tony, from an extensive list. We had planned to eat somewhere else locally on the second night but we were so impressed first time that we returned and were even more satisfied on our second visit. Dromoland is a super venue, now very accessible by motor-way and in a blissful setting. We will be returning very soon.

November 14th 2013.

 

"The Best Place we Stayed in Ireland-A Must!".

We stayed one night at Dromoland and were so impressed with the grounds, accommodations and service. I wish we could have stayed a week! When we arrived (on a quiet week night in the beginning of the off season, to be fair) we were given an upgrade to a deluxe room with two double beds and large sitting area with a view of the lough. Really lovely. The doorman took our bags, showed us to our room and parked our car. Dinner in the gallery was good, not incredible. Breakfast the next morning is not to be missed - silver and china and white glove service, literally. When we awoke the next morning, we discovered a flat tire. The staff whisked the car down to the village for us (while we enjoyed breakfast) and it was back, fixed, within an hour. So helpful!! Finally, the shower! Ahhh, triple water pressure better than my own at home. And American power outlets too!  It will be a stop on our next trip for sure!!

November 9th 2013.



"Outstanding!".

I spent 2 nights here with a few friends. The welcome, food and facilities were first class. The restaurant is called the Earl of Thomond and Tony the Manager really took good care of us. Our rooms were (and this is an old castle!!) spotless and well appointed. Breakfast the following morning was misleading in it's description (it should have been called meal for the day!) It was huge and very tasty. We did some clay shooting after breakfast and enjoyed a round of golf. I wish we had more time here.

November 5th 2013.

 

"In a Class by Itself".

This hotel in every respect is in a class by itself. The grounds are lovely. The staff literally fall over themselves trying to accomodate your every wish and request. The food was excellent and the service was impeccable. But the most impressive aspect of the experience is staying in the Castle--a unique experience to say the least. The Castle is very intriguing. It is historic but sufficiently up-tp-date to make the visit very comfortable and enjoyable. My wife and I checked in late at night. We had never been there before. When we checked in we were informed we were upgraded to a full suite. The room was lovely. The bed was very comfortable and the room had all the amenities one could ask for. We were also advised that eventhough it was after 10:00 pm the kitchen was still open and we could have dinner. That was a nice surprise since we had been traveling without food since 1:00pm. This was probably the nicest and most interesting place my wife and I have ever stayed at. We cannot wait to return. We would highly recommend Dromoland Castle to anyone who is planning a trip to Ireland. It is worth visiting even if you are not planning a visit to that part of the country. It is worth going out of your way for.

October 31st 2013.

 

 

"Really Cool to stay in such a historic Castle".

The property is an amazing place. It is well preserved and up to date. Rooms are large and generously appointed. The surrounding area is inspirational with the golf course surrounded by forests, lakes and ponds. The service was friendly, efficient and warm. We had dinner in the formal dining room and it was excellent. Health club/gym has a pool and a variety of workout equipment.

October 26th 2013.

 

"A once in a Lifetime Experience".

Sometime in everyone's life they should spend a night (or three) in a castle. Dromoland is a spectacular choice. The grounds are serene, with many unique activities, beautiful gardens and outstanding cuisine. Top it off with a few hours in the pub after dinner for friendly conversation. The local area features many opportunities to experience the Irish countryside, and the proximity to Shannon airport makes it very convenient.

October 24th 2013

 

"10/10 for Dromoland Castle".

My husband and I spend a fanastic wekend in Dromoland Castle recently. Our son and his new american wife from Sandiego CA, were in Ireland for a short trip and eight of the family spent two fantastic days in the Castle.We were all very impressed with the food, accommodation and the service.Even the weather was great,not sure if Dromoland had anything to do with that but as they are so good at what they do, it would not surprise me.They have the complete package , our experience was magical.

October 22nd 2013.

 

"A dream Stay in a Castle with excellent Customer Service".

We spent one evening at Dromoland after taking a day trip from Dublin to see the Cliffs of Moher. Everything about our stay was a dream come true-from the gorgeous room to the impeccable service we received. The grounds are immense and beautifully laid out. As part of our stay we received breakfast at the hotel which was also excellent.
The flawless service continued even after we checked out when one of our group left behind her iPad. The staff was extremely helpful in making sure she got it back, making multiple phone calls and even arranging a Saturday delivery through a courier to have it back in Dublin for us before we returned to the States

September 17th 2013.

 

"Loved the Castle"

We stayed at the Castle on our last night in Ireland. It was such a treat for us! A wide variety of activities to do while staying at the Castle. We would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Ireland.

September 14th 2013.

 

"A great place to relax and recharge".

We were impressed with the service and attention to detail. The grounds are beautiful as are the gardens. Staff was very courteous and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We certainly would go back.

September 13th 2013.

 

"Dromoland is a Story Book Castle".

Dromoland Castle is place from a fairy tale. Great activities, beautiful setting, and a terrific location. We all came not knowing anything about this castle and would return again and again. This is a place you must stay in, good food, good times and just a great place. Something to really see.

September 10th 2013

 

"Beautiful"

Everything about the estate is beautiful! The staff is so accommodating and friendly. It is certainly a 5 star location, as you arrive with chocolates next to your bed and a butler to carry your bags to your room. Enjoy the delicious breakfasts and Take the time to explore the grounds, the walled gardens and take a row boat on the lake.

September 3rd 2013

 

 

"This is a 10 Star Review".

Seriously, this hotel blows the rating system out of the water. We got a mid week special (thank goodness for us) and read the reviews, and Dromoland did not disappoint. The service was incredible at every turn - literally everyone we interacted with was kind, interesting, and friendly. We felt welcomed and at home from the moment we arrived - and we had been back packing, so we did not come with even the cleanest or nicest attire. No matter, we never thought twice about it because we were so welcomed.  Go there. No matter the price. Have the Dromoland experience - you won't regret it.

August 24th 2013

 

"Fascinating Place and People".

Truly gorgeous, fantastic food, but best of all the falconer and the pony and trap man. Don't miss the chance to spend time with either, walking or riding around the wooded grounds, respectively. It's a bonus that it's close to Shannon Airport, for sure, but I'd drive hours to spend time here.

August 20th 2013.

 

"My Kind of Decadence".

This was my favorite castle in Ireland. It is simply majestic in every way. The attention to detail in all manner is superb. The food was divine, Our room overlooked the pond in the front and was pure heaven. Each afternoon we enjoyed the most delectable Sherry, which was decanted in our room. I'd book multiple nights, if possible, you won't want to leave

August 10th 2013

 

"Do not miss this elegant experience".

We stayed at Dromoland during our whirlwind tour of Ireland. My husband & I were celebrating our 39th wedding anniversary and wanted a special stay as wonderful as our life together! The staff was the finest I have ever experienced, & I would know as I work for a major international hotel chain. Blan in reservations is the most precious asset and she prepared us for our arrival with directions, dinner reservations, a note and chocolates for our anniversary, and a spectacular room. The young man in the gallery bar made sure we knew where to find the trail in the other side of the lake and served up tasty cocktails. Earl of Thomond and its staff will be outdone by no one! Never before have we found such a fabulous balance of luxury, service, elegance and spectacular scenery. My only regret was leaving!

August 8th 2013

 

"Really Top Class Staff".

We had the pleasure of spending three nights in the Mc Donagh Suite in Dromoland in July. During our stay we were really impressed with the staff. They are all extremely friendly and they really go the extra distance to make the stay special .. The main restaurant in the castle is top class. Breakfast is magnificent and the cocktail bar is intimate with great service . Stunning location and amazing staff. We could not recommend this hotel highly enough and we will return again in 2014.

August 8th 2013

 

"Over the top".

Booked this place last minute. it was much more expensive than we had planned but we really needed a night of luxury after a bad hotel experience in Galloway. This place was above and beyond. We had called re availability and told them we might come. hen we arrived they had a room ready with teddy bears for the kids and cookies with their names on them, They made every effort or make all of us feel very welcome and the grounds were lovely. There was so much to do- we just did the horse back riding which was double the price of some other ones we have done but much better. The breakfast was excellent as well. It is a very beautiful hotel with impeccable service.

July 25th 2013

 

"Relaxing Irish Castle".

My family (my wife, son and daughter) spent 3 days at Dromoland Castle Hotel in Ireland in July, and it was a wonderful experience. The Hotel facility and grounds are quite spectacular, and the service is really first rate. We felt like the family in Downton Abbey, the service and manor house were so nice! There was a beautiful golf course, and plenty of other activities to do. We walked, biked and went on a 'hawk walk' where a very knowledgeable trainer and guide took us through the forest and let us work with a hawk to call it in and send it flying. The hotel rooms were very large and comfortable, and the restaurant food was excellent. They also have a nice pub with live music. Definitely the type of place that is worth the trip once in a while (it is priced accordingly).

July 23rd 2013

 

"Amazing Experience".

A fantastic property in a beautiful location. We were given a lovely suite overlooking the lake. The room was great. Well designed, great views, nice furniture and comfortable bed. We ate in the restaurant at the Golf Club for lunch. Service was great, drinks were good and the food good. We had breakfast from room service each of the two mornings. It arrived promptly and the food was hot and tasty. Also, had drinks in the bar located in the manor house. Very attentive service and wonderful ambiance.  We took a horse and buggy ride around the property that was fun and interesting. We learned a great deal about the hotel and surrounding area and its history. The staff were very willing and available to help out with any requests. We'd come back any time.

July 21st 2013

 

"Amazing Place".

Dromoland Castle is absolutely beautiful. On the outside it looks like a centuries old castle, but the rooms are still nice and cozy like a luxury hotel. Our room was huge and the bathroom was huge too! We really enjoyed the hot tub that was right in the middle of the castle close to our room. We also took the golf carts down to the country club to use the indoor pool, sauna, and steam room. It was a very relaxing stay and the falconry class was very interesting and unique.The breakfast was delicious and satisfying. It was also nice to have a bar, restaurant, and tea room right there in the hotel. Overall, if you are looking for a relaxing, luxurious stay, this is for you!

July 14th 2013

 

"Wow"

First class all the way. Exceptional staff, fantastic grounds, terrific food in multiple restaurants, nice spa services (according to my wife) and a great room. It is only 15 minutes from Shannon Airport, but it feels like you are far away from the mundane world. I have stayed in other 5-star hotels, but none with the WOW factor of Dromoland Castle. My first thought as we drove in was, "Are they supposed to let commoners like me into a place like this?"

July 12th 2013

 

"Fantasy"

This was my dream. We went to Scotland and Ireland for two weeks and all I wanted to do was stay in a castle. The next to the last night I got my wish when we stayed here. It is total luxury. From the drive up, to the check in, to the high tea and dinner, the massage, etc, etc, etc. It was my dream come true!!! Everyone was so accommodating, I just can't say enough. Thank you Dromoland Castle!!!

July 7th 2013

 

"A beautiful experience".

Wow! I've now had the pleasure of staying at 2 fantastic hotels in Ireland.... The first being the Merriion in Dublin. At both we were upgraded to Executive King rooms. This castle hotel with its grounds and gardens is lovely in every way. Our room was spacious, modern and clean. It had a big bay window overlooking the main castle. There were even 110 volt sockets. The king size bed was great. We rode bikes around the property... Provided at no charge. Had lunch in front of a fire and then went to the spa for a couples massage. The spa was small but elegant with a nice relaxation room where we were served tea after our massages. The staff were excellent. Our room was so nice we had a late room service dinne rather than going out. My wife was the one who wanted one night in a castle and she was thrilled... Thank you Hotel staff for the upgrade and chocolates.. Breakfast was great and the bell staff were very helpful coming and going. If in Western Ireland do not miss this gem!

June 28th 2013.

 

"One of the best in the world".

We have stayed in Dromoland castle many times and even got married there last year. I have stayed in a good few 5 star resorts across the world and while the restrictions of having a hotel in a castle verses a new build hotel are difficult to compare, Dromoland always comes out on top. The staff are amazing and welcoming, the food is out of this world and the general feel of the place is one of total relaxation. If you can do one hotel stay in Ireland make sure its here. We cant wait to go back sometime this year and as they always say when we check in " welcome home".

June 27th 2013.

 

"Like a Fairytale".

Feel like a queen and king for a bit. Stunning place to stay. All staff were incredible. Grounds and rooms were gorgeous. Dinner was expensive but incredibly delicious. Pub in the old library is very charming. This castle was a special stop on our honeymoon.

June 26th 2013.

 

"Wow".

Our group of six had but one night to stay. We were fortunate enough to arrive mid-day and take part in some of the activities. 4 play nine holes of golf which I was told was a decent enough course. My wife and I opted to take advantage of one of the boats. She rowed while I fished. The equipment was not good but if you have your own, it would be a nice way to pass time. After that we did the Falconry. This was well worth it. As far as the rooms, they were beautiful and large. Dinner and breakfast were extremely good, Service by the entire staff was great.

June 23rd 2013.

 

"An old fashioned castle with modern day comfort".

We had the pleasure to spend the last two nights of our Ireland trip at Dromoland. We arrived early in the afternoon and after a slight check in glitch were settled in a gorgeous corner suite. The common rooms are beautiful-- luxurious and meticulously maintained. The concierge was very friendly and eager to help us plan our excursions. Dinner was delicious and the bar the most memorable setting for a pre-dinner drink. We had a delightful hour with Patty who showed us how to shoot clay pidgins and enjoyed 9 holes of golf. My only caution would be to carefully pick your rooms. As a family of 4 find a one suite to house all of us was a challenge and the new rooms lack the charm of the main castle. That sad, how often can you stay in a true castle and be treated like royalty. It was a hit with all of us!

June 22nd 2013.

 

"Amazing".

Every detail was perfect from the moment we walked in the door. Be sure to check out the School of Falconry as that was a once in a lifetime experience. Everyone at the hotel made sure that we had everything we needed to have the perfect stay.

June 20th 2013.

 

"Lived like a Princess".

My family and I went to Dromoland for my parents to renew their wedding vows. The ceremony was beautiful and very well done - such a special place for it! While we were staying there, we also took part in a falconry lesson which is definitely a must-do! Dave provides an educational experience and an up close and personal afternoon with hawks and other birds of prey. We also took an archery lesson, which was fun too. The spa here is beautiful and just won an award for best facial in Ireland! The dinner restaurant is not to be missed to truly treat yourself!

June 20th 2013.

 

We stayed in this wonderful castle hotel in Feb 2013 in celebration of a 90th birthday. The whole experience was magnificent. Once the ancestral home of the Earls of Thomand the castle has been expertly converted into a 5 star hotel complete with tasteful reproductions of the original portraiture and suits of armour. The floors and stairs squeak as expected for a 19th centuary castle adding to the charm. The bedrooms, off long narrow winding corridors are large and very nicely appointed with modern remodelled bathrooms and appliances. As an American off the "red-eye" at the very adjacent Shannon Airport I was expected and welcomed by the "family" in the baronial foyer. A cat-nap later followed by a late lunch in the old Library (replete with a large Staffordshire collection) with a hearty soup and heaps of brown bread and smoked salmon washed down with a snifter - "to keep out the damp" sir! -I felt like a Lord. Evening "table d'hote" in the baronial dinning room was perfect. Soft spoken maitre d' permits small substitutions from the a-la-carte -whatever your lordship pleases. Ramble the exquisite grounds to work off the Irish Breakfast-beware of golfers! Swim in the adjacent in-door pool. Check out the Falconry for sure or the quaintly appointed spa if you must. One of the best things about this hotel is the magnificent service from a staff who make you feel like a welcome visitor to their home. Not cheap but a cherished experience for my family and the best in Irish hospitality.

June 19th 2013.

 

"A very special place"

This is a wonderful location - the water, the grounds - and the whole set-up is instantly impressive. As are the good food, excellent wifi and clean/comfortable rooms. But what really makes your stay here so memorable are the people and the activities on hand. The falconry is simply good for the soul and Dave is an excellent guide. Dennis the gillie makes skeet shooting a wonderfully engaging experience. And the house staff are approachable, helpful and always good for a laugh. John the porter s/b a legend. They all combine to make your stay here a real pleasure. And when the weather closes in you can just sit warm in the bar and watch the golfers slosh around. Doesn't get any better than that! Dromoland Castle is an exceptionally inviting and rewarding place to stay

June 16th 2013

 

"Don't miss it".

This was the best hotel and dinner of our CIE tour. Elegant indoor space and beautiful property and setting. Friendly and helpful staff eager to serve and answer your questions. Would have liked to spend much more time there.

June 8th 2013

 

"This really is a special place".

It was a November weekend when we stayed, so a bit off season. There were lots of events going on, a wedding, a conference and people just taking time out. This really is a special place, lovely setting and magnificent grounds with a wide selection of activities to avail of. This is a period building with the gentle waft of wood smoke through the building, old portraits, stone walls and stairways, deep comfy couches Had a lovely room, very large proportions, opposite the main entrance. There are lots of corridors, and there are a variety of different rooms. Great food on all occasions, thought that breakfast was just special. Staff were excellent throughout, but expected that more would be from the local area. This is an old building, and draughty in spots, some slightly frayed edges here and there, a sort of scruffy gentility that is fundamentally charming. Will be back without a doubt.

June 2nd 2013



 

"Great Experience".

I wasn't sure what to expect as I wanted to stay in an Irish "castle", but was afraid this was a little commercial and we might be disappointed. I am happy to say it was a great experience all the way around, my only regret is we did not spend enough time there. We only stayed 1 night and arrive around 3 PM. The weather was okay for April and we were able to check in and walk around the grounds. There was a wedding there that night so our reservations for dinner in the nice restaurant were cancelled so we opted to switch over to dinner at the gold club house. Dinner was really good and we enjoyed the atmosphere as it just happened to be the 2nd day of the US Masters so there were many gold enthusiasts there - which made it fun. The castle itself was very impressive as were the staff and our rooms. I would like to spend 2-3 days here and partake in some of the activities as well as just enjoy different areas of the property. Highly recommend

May 30th 2013.

 

"Beautiful"

This was our first trip to Ireland, we booked through Authentic Ireland. We received a warm welcome upon arrival and found the room to be a great size and inviting. We stayed for two nights, May 16&17. Experienced our first High Tea, wonderful. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful, staff was friendly and gave great suggestions on things to do. The Dromoland Castle was amazing, the grounds beautiful, we had some great walks. The staff was informative and helpful, we would stay here again. Enjoyed our stay, thank you.

May 30th 2013

 

"Exceptional Stay"

We had the honor of staying in one of the Tower rooms. The view was spectacular and the room itself was breathtaking. Mind you, there are a LOT of steps to get to the room so be prepared, but it is well worth the climb. The staff was amazingly helpful and friendly and the extra services offered by the hotel were well worth the time and money. We went on the horse and buggy ride and learned all about the castle, grounds, and history of Ireland. We also did the Hawk Walk which was amazing! My only regret was not staying longer. Go... enjoy... stay.

May 30th 2013.

 

 

Print

Avvio